New THA Administration Sworn In

The Tobago House of Assembly (THA) election was held on December 6, 2021. Earlier today (December 9th), a new THA administration was sworn in at the Magdalena Grand Beach and Golf Resort, Lowlands.

The THA representatives sworn in were: Farley Chavez Augustine (Parlatuvier/L’anse Fourmi/Speyside), Watson Solomon Duke (Roxborough/Argyle), Nathisha Charles-Pantin (Bagatelle/Bacolet), Dr Faith B.Yisrael (Belle Garden/Glamorgan), Terance Baynes (Bethel/New Grange), Zorisha Hackett (Bethesda/Les Coteaux), Joel Sampson (Bon Accord/Crown Point), Sonny Craig (Buccoo/Mt Pleasant), Wane Clarke (Lambeau/Lowlands), Ian Pollard (Mason Hall/Moriah), Megan Morrison (Mt St George/Goodwood), Niall George (Plymouth/Black Rock), Trevor James (Scarborough/Mt Grace), and Nigel Taitt (Signal Hill/Patience Hill), while Kelvon Morris (Darrel Spring/Whim) was sworn in as Minority Leader.

In Tobago, the THA comprises two main arms, the Legislative Arm and the Executive Arm. The Legislative Arm (Assembly Legislature) is where all members of the Assembly meet in plenary and in select committees to make policy decisions for the operations of the Assembly.

The Executive Arm of the Assembly is headed by the Chief Secretary in his capacity as leader of the Executive Council. The Council has individual and collective responsibility for carrying out the tasks of the Assembly through its divisions. The THA currently has 10 divisions.

Assemblyman Farley Chavez Augustine identified his three Councillors as Tashia Grace Burris, Orlando Kerr, and Certica Williams, while the Minority Councillor was identified as Petal Daniel-Benoit by Minority Leader Kelvon Morris.

THA Chief Secretary Farley Chavez Augustine, left, and Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable Keith Rowley at the Assembly Legislature building, Scarborough.
From left, Assemblyman Farley Chavez Augustine, takes his Oath of Office. Front row, from left, Her Excellency Paula-Mae Weekes ORTT, President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable Keith Rowley, and Chief Justice Ivor Archie.