Close this search box.
Chief Secretary Dennis Advises of Changes to Executive Council of the THA

Chief Secretary, the Honourable Ancil K. Dennis, wishes to advise that he has requested and received resignations from former Assemblymen and Secretaries Kelvin Charles, Hayden Spencer and Jomo Pitt.

The Chief Secretary further advises that pursuant to Section 34 (1) of the THA Act 40 of 1996, which states that: The Executive Council shall be responsible for the carrying out of the functions of the Assembly and the Chief Secretary may, for that purpose, undertake or assign to a Secretary, responsibility for any such function, the following members of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) will be assigned to the respective functions, in addition to their current portfolios:

  1. Assemblyman Marslyn Melville-Jack – Secretary of Education, Innovation and Energy
  2. Assemblyman Tracy Davidson-Celestine – Secretary of Sport and Youth Affairs

The Chief Secretary will assume responsibility for the Division of Food Production, Forestry and Fisheries, in addition to his current portfolio as Secretary of Tourism, Culture and Transportation.

Mr. Dennis says all Assistant Secretaries by virtue of no longer being members of the Tobago House of Assembly, have since demitted office.

Chief Secretary Dennis continues to assure the Tobago public that the Executive Council will endeavour to ensure that the business of the people of Tobago and the Tobago House of Assembly remain top priority and all efforts will be made to minimise disruptions to good governance.