Peterkin and London among the winners at 2013 Tobago Youth Awards

National President medal winner Shelemiah Peterkin and double Carifta champion Mark London were among the high profile winners at the annual Tobago Youth Awards at the Magdalena Grand Resort, Lowlands on Thursday evening. Peterkin won the Award for Education (academics) finishing ahead of the other nominees Kleon Mc Pherson and Sunshine Arthur. The Bishop High school graduate attained the highest grades for Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) in Trinidad and Tobago and also achieved the highest grade in the Caribbean in Business studies. The Moriah resident became the first Tobagonian to capture the prestigious President medal. Peterkin completed her O level studies at Bishops High before pursuing Advanced level studies at St. Joseph Convent, St. Joseph, Trinidad. Peterkin said she is humbled for receiving the President’s medal and grateful to all who supported and helped her in her success. She is yet to decide between the London School of Economics and Politcal Science and the University of Waterloo where she plans to study Economics/Accounting. Peterkin also praised God for her success and encouraged young Tobagonians to work hard and put God first.

London secured the Sports and Wellness award. The former Bishops High School student is an accomplished athlete and cyclist. He won the boys under 20 800m and 1500m titles at the Carifta track and field championships in Bahamas in April and also retained the Division three title at the annual Tobago Cycle Classic in October. The Plymouth resident also competes in triathlon and is set to leave on an athletic scholarship in the USA in January 2014. London edged national tennis playing twins Joshua and Ty Abraham.

Akysha Hector got the nod for the Education (tech-voc). Hector is a YTEPP-trained hair-dresser and has been in the hair industry for the past eight years. She said she was surprised on winning the award and encouraged youngsters to pursue their dreams and don’t give up.

Other winners on the night were Rondel Armstrong (Entrepreneurship), Avron Radgman (Agriculture), Wade David (Youth Leader), Joel Job (Youth Triumph), McNicol Nicholson (Youth Mentor), Davia Chamber (Media) and Samson Caesar (Peoples’ Choice). The People Choice was decided by votes on Facebook. Kerron Brebnor received the Secretary’s award for Excellence at the CSEC O Level examinations while Dhawyne Michael Henry and Lemuel Phillips were recognized for their outstanding performance at the CAPE exams. In the group awards, Mason Hall Police Youth Club collected the Most Outstanding Youth Group prize while Plymouth Besthesda Group was named the Most Improved Youth Group and Carib Dixieland Pan Class, the Most Effective Youth Programme or Project. The annual awards are hosted Department of Youth Affairs of the Division of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports. Heading the list of dignitaries THA Chief Secretary Orville London, Deputy Chief Secretary Tracy Davidson-Celestine, Presiding Officer Kelvin Charles, Secretary of of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports Gary Melville and Assistant Secretary Jomo Pitt.


Education (Tech Voc) – Akysha Hector

Educaiton (Academics) – Shelemiah Peterkin

Sports and Wellness – Mark London

Entrepreneurship – Rondel Armstrong

Agriculture – Avron Radgman

Media – Davia Chambers

Youth Service – Alana De Silva

Youth Leader – Wade David

Youth Triumph – Joel Job

Youth Mentor – McNicol Nicholson

Peoples’ Choice – 1st Samson Caesar, 2nd Aniecia Baptiste, 3rd Tyeis Lorde, 4th Garielle Yorke, 5th Tyriq Horsford, 6th Sheridon Tobias, 7th Niclon Ince

Secretary’s Award for Excellence in CSEC – Kerron Brebnor

Secretary’s Award for Excellence in CAPE – Dhwayne Michael Henry, Lemuel Phillips

Most Outstanding Youth Group – Mason Hall Police Youth Club

Most Improved Youth Group – Plymouth Bethesda Youth Club

Most Effective Youth Programme/Project – Carib Dixie Land Pan Class

back to top