Assemblyman Jomo Pitt to Youth: Seize opportunities

Tobago youth are being encouraged to make full use of opportunities available to them for personal development. Assemblyman Jomo Pitt, Secretary of Sport and Youth Affairs, made the call on Thursday (October 12) during the Youth Awards at the Magdalena Grand Beach and Golf Resort.

Speaking at the ceremony, Pitt encouraged, “To the youths of today, the opportunities are there which you need to take advantage of.”

“Please take advantage of opportunities presented to you to help make Tobago and also by extension Trinidad and Tobago a better place.”

Pledging his commitment to developing Tobago youth, he shared “Tobago is on the right footing. We just have to ensure that we encourage these youngsters to go as far as they can. And we have that responsibility. I, as the Secretary of Sport and Youth Affairs, will accept that responsibility, and will do my best to ensure that the youths of Tobago live up to their potential.”

The awardees included Rheanne Moore for youth service, Dexter Wilson – Youth Leader and Kashiff Wilson in the Performing Arts category. Khanica Murray got the nod in the Entrepreneurship category for her Khanica and Son’s Pure Coconut Oil product which can be seen on the local markets. While the Agriculture award went to farmer Farwook Radgman whose hope is to bring Tobago back to an era of greatness, where the island exports more than it imports.

Local radio personality Arelle Williams (Media), Rene’ Baird (Health and Wellness), and Zalisia Guy (Youth Triumph) were also individual winners on the night. The People’s Choice Award (Student Leadership) went to Miguel Quashie, who earned rapturous applause for his achievement.

In the Group Awards, JCI took the Most Outstanding Youth Organisation and the Most Effective Youth Programme Project. This organisation boasts of a mission that is committed to providing developmental opportunities that empower young people to create positive change. The Most Improved Youth Organisation was the El Instituto de Idioma who in its 3 years has a membership of 120 persons. The organisation seeks to be recognised as a leader in promoting language learning across Tobago, and enhancing the holistic development of our youth.

The new executive of the Tobago Youth Council was also inducted at the event. They include President- Latoyaa Roberts-Thomas; Vice President- Kern Johnson; Secretary- Rheanne Moore; Treasurer- Collin Edwards; Public Relations Officer- Kevon Mc Kenna; Trustee-Arlene Brebnor and Shaquile Reveiro.

Tobago Youth Awards winners:
Agriculture – Farwook Radgman
Media – Arelle Williams
Youth Triumph – Zalisia Guy
Health and Wellness -Rene’ Baird
Youth Service – Rheanne Moore
Entrepreneurship – Khanica Murray
Youth Mentor – Keryl Boyce
Education – Zalisia Guy
Youth Leader – Dexter Wilson
Performing Arts – Kashiff Wilson
Most Improved Youth Organisation – El Instituto de Idioma
Most Effective Youth Programme/Project – JCI Tobago
Most Outstanding Youth Organisation – JCI Tobago

back to top