Tobago Day Awards: Sterling Service

Seated, from left, THA Chief Secretary Hon. Ancil K. Dennis and Chief Administrator Bernadette Solomon-Koroma take a group photo with award recipients at the Tobago Day Awards. Standing, from left, Elizabeth Williams, Aaron George Reid, Cherryll Birchwood Uzoruo W. Thabiti, Roland Murray, Lloye Warner, Thomas Noel Sosa, Ian Darlington, Orwin Dillon, Joshua James, and Kleon McPherson (2021).

Tobago Day 2021 awardees are being praised for making a difference on the island.

Ten Tobagonians were honoured on Saturday (December 4th) during the ceremony at Shaw Park Complex. The event brought to a close a week of Tobago Day celebrations to highlight the culture and achievements of Tobago.

THA Chief Secretary Hon. Ancil K. Dennis said he remains hopeful in the resilience of Tobagonians despite the challenges caused by the pandemic. He thanked the awardees for their role in the island’s development.

“I want to say to all of you on behalf of the island of Tobago and this country by extension, thank you for your distinguished service, your contributions, and your hard work, which I’m sure brought many sleepless nights. Thank you for being who you are to the people of Tobago,” the Chief Secretary said.

This year’s Tobago Day theme was “Realising Our Resilience”. The Tobago Day Awards ceremony is held annually in recognition of Tobagonians who have provided distinguished and outstanding service to the island.

The Tobago Medal of Honour (GOLD) is awarded for distinguished and outstanding service to Tobago, while the Tobago Medal of Honour (SILVER) is awarded for long and meritorious service to Tobago.

The Tobago Medal of Honour (BRONZE) is awarded for loyal and devoted service beneficial to Tobago in any field of human endeavour, or for gallantry or human action. Finally, the Chief Secretary’s Award is for outstanding contributions and significant achievements towards the development of Tobago, within the period December 1st, 2020-November 5th, 2021.


Lloye Warner (Tobago Medal of Honour GOLD – Entrepreneurship)

Thomas Noel Sosa (Tobago Medal of Honour GOLD – Education and Community Service)

Orwin Dillon (Tobago Medal of Honour SILVER – Agriculture).

Aaron George Reid (Tobago Medal of Honour SILVER – Education, Culture and Community Service).

Cherryll Birchwood Uzoruo W. Thabiti (Tobago Medal of Honour SILVER – Culture and the Arts).

Cowie’s Bakery (Tobago Medal of Honour SILVER – Entrepreneurship)

Liz N. Williams Foundation (Tobago Medal of Honour BRONZE – Community Service)

Kleon McPherson (Tobago Medal of Honour BRONZE – Culture and Community Service)

Joshua James (Chief Secretary’s Award)

Roland Murray (Chief Secretary’s Award)

back to top