Sea to Sea Marathon 2017

The second Tobago International Sea to Sea Marathon took place over the weekend (May 20-21). The event took runners from Bloody Bay on the Caribbean Sea to Little Rockley Bay and attracted sports enthusiasts and onlookers who gathered to cheer the runners on. The Marathon is the first AIMS/IAAF certified road race in Tobago and included a full marathon, half marathon, 10k and 5K.

The half marathon male winner was Stephen Mburi of Kenya, while second was Didimo Sanchez of Venezuela, and third, Alexis Pena of Venezuela.

The half marathon female winner was Grace Wambui of Kenya, while second was Venezuelan Yeisy Alvarez, and third, her compatriot Christina Laurent.

Male marathon winners were first, Richer Perez Cobas of Cuba, second was Simon Kariuka of Kenya, and third Abdisa Bedada of Venezuela.

Female full marathon winners were, first, USA’s Aurelia Rutto, second, Nigeria-born, US-based Mary Akor, and third, Sjaelan Evans of Trinidad and Tobago.

back to top