Scarborough RC is Tobago 3k champs

De Mario Forde of Bon Accord Government and J’eleisha Alexander of Scarborough RC were the big winners when the 2018 Tobago Primary Schools track and field season ran off last week.

They got the season underway with wins in the Boys and Girls Divisions of the traditional 3k road race. The race began with preliminaries from January 17-18 and ended on Tuesday (January 23). The event is coordinated by the Sport in Education unit of the Division of Education, Innovation and Energy.

During the prelims, more than 170 runners took to the road. The race started in the vicinity of the Administrative Complex in Calder Hall and ended at the Dwight Yorke Stadium Car Park. The girls were given a one minute, 30 seconds head start over the boys.

The Windward and Leeward B preliminary was held under sunny conditions, with Forde first to cross the line. Keiann Jerry of Pembroke Anglican was the first female to complete the course.

Meantime, Alexander of Scarborough RC was the first girl to complete the run in the Northside and Leeward A zonal on January 18. She clocked 10:10. Mason Hall’s Ben Isreal Bannister was the first male and overall winner in 8:44.

The finals saw the top 40 boys and top 40 girls from the qualifiers battle on Tuesday 23rd January. And Alexander again showed her superiority among the girls, with Kaori Robley Lambeau AC second, and another Scarborough RC student, Carissa Cowan, third.

Among the boys, Forde from Bon Accord Government held off schoolmate Hakeem Kern for the title. Kern was second, and third was Anderson Burris of Michael K Hall.

The Champion School 2018 was Scarborough RC, which copped the most points.

back to top