Nominations open for Tobago Day Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Tobago Day Awards, which will honour those who have made significant contributions to Tobago.

Tobagonians can be nominated for the Tobago medal of honour (gold, silver and bronze) and the Chief Secretary’s Award.

The Tobago medal of honour (gold)–the island’s highest award–is given for distinguished and outstanding service to Tobago, while the Tobago medal of honour (silver) is for long meritorious service to Tobago. The Tobago medal of honour (bronze) will honour individuals for loyal and devoted service beneficial to Tobago in any field of human endeavour or for gallantry or other human action.
The Chief Secretary’s Award will recognise outstanding contribution and significant achievements within the previous calendar year (December 2016 to November 2017).

In 2016, McArtha Sandy-Lewis, better known as Calypso Rose, and Winston “Mighty Shadow” Bailey were both awarded the Tobago medal of honour gold for their contributions to calypso and the international recognition they have brought to this country. Neil Wilson was also a recipient of that award for his contributions to business over several decades. And the Chief Secretary’s Award was presented to young music talent, Justin Peterkin.

The public is being invited to nominate deserving Tobagonians for these four categories for 2017. Nomination forms can be collected at the Administrative Complex in Calder Hall, or downloaded here.

Completed forms can be submitted to The Chief Administrator, Tobago House of Assembly, Administrative Complex, 62-64 Calder Hall Road, Calder Hall, Scarborough, 900408, Tobago. They can also be emailed to

The closing date for nominations is November 13 at 4.15 p.m.

back to top