

STORIES OF THE DAY

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF SECRETARY

Monday 22nd May, 2017

Tobago House of Assembly

JAMES, STEWART TOBAGO'S BEST

sha James and Akeem Stewart were rewarded for their passion and commitment to sport in 2016, as they were named Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year respectively at the Tobago Sport Awards 2016.

The function took place on Saturday night (May 20, 2017), at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. The theme for the awards was "Today's Champion's...Tomorrow's Legends".

James was the star of the night, as she also picked up the Female Student of the Year and Female Secondary School Athlete of the Year. She excelled in track and field with javelin bronze, was the Secondary Schools Football League leading scorer, and also represented Signal Hill Secondary at cricket.

Her schoolmate Tyriq Horsford also picked up two awards: Male Student Athlete of the Year and Male Secondary School Athlete of the Year, after smashing the Carifta javelin record in 2016.

Stewart's coach Wade Franklyn was coach of the year, while former goalkeeper Julieann McDougall was also named Sporting Official of the Year.

THA Sport Awards 2016:

AWARDEES

Sportsman of the Year – Akeem Stewart (Track and Field)

Sportswoman of the Year – Asha James (Track and Field/
Football/Cricket)

Coach of the Year – Wade Franklyn (Track and Field)

Sporting Official of the Year – Julieann McDougall (Football)

Male Student Athlete of the Year – Tyriq Horsford (Track and

Male Secondary School Athlete of the Year – Tyriq Horsford Female Student Athlete of the Year – Asha James

Female Secondary School Athlete off the Year – Asha James
Female Primary School Athlete of the Year – Abrisse Trim
(Swimming)

Male Primary School Athlete of the Year - Jacob Cox (Swimming)

Club of the Year - Tobago YMCA Aqua Warriors Community Sport Programme/Project - Team Aqua Force



AWARDEES: Four of the personalities who were honoured at the THA Sports Awards 2016, which was held at the Magdalena Grand Beach and Golf Resort. From left are field athletes Tyriq Horsford, Akeem Stewart, Asha James and coach Wade Franklyn.

MEXICAN TAKES 'SEA TO SEA' TITLE

exico's Richer Perez Cobas strode away with the Sea to Sea Marathon on Sunday, clocking two hours, 34 minutes and six seconds to be the overall winner, and the top Male runner. He edged out Kenyan Simon Kariuki by 39 seconds, while Ethiopia's Abdisa Sori Bedada was almost two minutes back in third. Curtis Cox was the first local runner across the finish line, the Tobago-born runner clocking 3:10:49.

In the Female category, American Aurelia Rutto took the win in 3:11:50. She beat veteran US-based runner Mary Akor, who finished second, while T&T's Sjaelan Evans was third.

In the half marathon, Kenyan duo Stephen Mburi and Grace Wambui took the male and female titles respectively.

On Saturday, the Sea to Sea 10K race was won by Venezuelan pair Yeisy Alvarez and Didimo Sanchez, Alvarez taking the women's title in 38:19, and Sanchez sealing the men's title in 33:40.

The men's 5K title was secured by Trinidad's Raymond Ramcharan in 19:55 seconds, while the women's version went to Alexis Jacques, also of Trinidad, in 22: 33.

APPLICATIONS OPEN FOR YOUTH ASSEMBLY

Tobago youth are encouraged to apply for the Summer Youth Assembly at the United Nations.

Applicants for the upcoming 20th session of the Youth Assembly at the United Nations must be between the ages of 16 to 28, actively involved in their respective communities, and strongly motivated to become a change maker in their community and the world. Interested applicants who are 29 years old and older may apply as a Youth Assembly Observer.

The 20th session of the Youth Assembly at the United Nations will be held in the United States and is guided by the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, "leaving no one behind."