

ORIES OF THE DA

Thursday 26th January, 2017

Tobago House of Assembly

JEW ASSEMBLY INSTALLED

he Tenth Assembly has been sworn in. The inauguration ceremony took place this morning (January 26) today at Assembly Legislature in Scarborough.

Assemblyman for Black Rock/Whim/Spring Garden Kelvin Charles has been elected Chief Secretary, and Assemblyman for Bacolet/Mt. St. George, Joel Jack, is Deputy Chief Secretary. Dr. Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus is Presiding Officer, and Buccoo/Mt Pleasant representative, Ancil Dennis, is Deputy Presiding Officer.

Four councillors have also been appointed. They include Kwesi Des Vignes, Dr. Agatha Carrington and Nadine Stewart-Phillips. Dr. Faith B Yisrael is the fourth councillor, appointed on the advice of Minority Leader Watson Duke.

The other Assemblymen are: Jomo Pitt, member for Lambeau/Signal Hill; Sheldon Cunningham, member for Providence/Mason Hall/Moriah; Marslyn Melville-Jack member for Scarborough/Calder Hall; Marisha Osmond, member for Plymouth/Golden Lane; Shomari Hector, member for Bethel/Mt Irvine; Clarence Jacob, member for Canaan/Bon Accord; Hayden Spencer, member for Goodwood/Belle Garden; and Farley Augustine, member for Parlatuvier/ L'Anse Fourmi/Speyside.



TAKING THE OATH: Kelvin Charles, left, is sworn in as Chief Secretary by President Anthony Carmona this morning (January 26) during the 10th Inauguration Ceremony of the Tobago House of Assembly at the Assembly Legislature in Scarborough.

STUDENT COUNCILS **EXPANDING TO** PRIMARY SCHOOLS

oung Tobago students are being encouraged to develop Character, Competence, Caring, Connection and Confidence.

This 'Five C's' approach will be utilised in the new student councils being established at eight Tobago primary schools. The initiative is being introduced through the Division of Education, Youth Affairs and Sport.

The programme is being spearheaded by the Division's Student Support Unit at Black Rock Government, Buccoo Government, Montgomery Government, Table Piece Government, Delaford Anglican, Roxborough Anglican, Charlotteville Methodist and Castara Government.

The Division is currently on an education drive to these schools in order to formulate objectives and strategies under the 5 C's and ensure students are involved in the programme.

Within the school system, the Student Council will be a proactive organisation charged with hosting morning assembly twice per week, and helping to instil values among their peers.

TOBAGO RETURNS TO 'BEST VILLAGE'

fter an eight-year hiatus, Tobago will return to the Prime Minister's ■ Best Village Competition.

The announcement was made by Dr. Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus (who ended her term as Secretary of Community Development and Culture this week), during the launch of the Tobago Indigenous and Traditional Arts Academy (TITAA) on January 19.

"Too many cultural activists on the Island lament of the inability to participate and compete in that competition," Dr. Tsoiafatt-Angus said. "The Prime Minister's Best Village Competition is what creates the bond between Trinidad and Tobago."

Last weekend, 31 Tobagonians, including the former Culture Secretary, travelled to Trinidad for the launch of the event.

